Seconds2Real: Kay Von Aspern

What brought you to doing street photography? Why do you love it?

I like walking through the city and really enjoy watching people, what they are doing and how they are acting in the public space. I think I have been a serious street photographer for 5-6 years now. Not that I am successful with it, but it means a lot of fun to me and I can’t imagine one day without taking at least some shots in the streets. To me this way of photography is like meditation, it’s relaxation and tension at the same time. There is no need for a special concept. Life where I am is the concept. It’s basic and down-to-earth.

But this doesn’t pay the bills easily!

I pay my bills with the money I earn as a clerk in the IT business.

Which photographers inspire you?

I admire several photographers of which I think they inspire me. Many of them are unknown and are not even street photographers.

Editing/selecting which images to show is crucial for a street
photographer. Has being in a collective helped you with this process?

Not in my daily work. But it’s helpful when planning an exhibition or something like that.

In the UK, street photography has become very popular over the
last year (the Street Photography Now book published, Format Festival
dedicated to street photography, the London Street Photography
Festival, your work on show at Look11, and lots of popular workshops).
Have you felt that street photography has also been more popular
recently in your own country? And do think that street photography
will continue to be popular in this way?

In Austria and Germany contemporary street photography is nearly irrelevant for galleries and similar institutions. The old masters are shown from time to time. That’s all. But my impression is, that there is a huge public interest in young and fresh street photography.

Any tips or “words of wisdom” for other street photographers?

Don’t spend too much time “studying” the old street photography masters. Try to connect to the contemporary international street photography scene. This is a great motivation and inspiration.

What would be your ideal gear for doing street photography with?

The ideal gear to me is the gear in my hands. I personally shoot street mostly digital with a Canon 5D and a cheap 35mm lens. Recently I thought about buying the new Fuji X-100. But it seems to be another slow cam. So I will use my good old 5D until its broken I think.

To the pictures:

kva1
Here it’s the missing head, sunken in the cloud of balloons. A scenery which took 2 or 3 seconds. As a gust of wind arrive the person, the ballons and I made this picture.

kva2

In this picture I like the combination of shapes, the different human “bodies” and as a funny detail the rabbit look of the person in the middle.

kva3

I took the photo on a flea market in Vienna beside the famous “Naschmarkt”. It’s simply the extension of the legs with a fitting human body upper part I noticed.

kva4

This picture is a little bit difficult to describe. The reason I like it might be because of the expression of the woman to the left in combination with the red colour. And of course I like her hands together with the smoking hand behind her. All together it made an interesting situation to me.

kva5

Biker’s world. That’s all I have to say here.

TCJUNPJKS9X7

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

